Geddit: reflections and classroom implementation

Standard

geddit

I found this tool two weeks ago and I’ve been using it almost everyday. The fact that it’s on my Bookmark Toolbar and the positive response by the students makes it a successful tool for me. In this post, I’d like to introduce this tool and show how I’ve been using it.

I also need to state that all my students have smart phones and there is wireless everywhere in the campus. Alternatively, students can use their laptops, and tablets, too.

Basically, geddit is a tool to monitor students’ progress. You can ask questions to your students anytime during the lesson. Collecting instant feedback, making a quick poll, and even a small quiz is possible.

2014-03-21_2057Signing up is really easy. First, you need to choose your role. I haven’t tried the student sign up but I can say it is fast seeing my students already responding to the questions as I was expecting them to spend at least five minutes trying to sign up.

choose your role

choose your role

Below you can find what kind of info you are required to enter. For the email, by default it says ‘your school email’ but actually you can enter any accounts such as Gmail, Yahoo, or Hotmail.

sign up info

sign up info

Once you sign up and you are in, there are three steps to familiarize yourself with the tool. First, you can watch a two minute video about the basics and the logic of this tool. Then, you can try the demo lesson for hands on practice. Finally, you can add your first class and get started. I particularly found the demo lesson useful to get to know this tool. You start with giving a name for your class. I gave “R5M2″ as this is my current class.

2014-03-21_2111You can then continue with either preparing your lesson or setting up the student accounts. There is no particular order. Either can be done any time. Yet, I started with the student accounts. Here you have two options:

2014-03-21_2111_001Later I realized that giving students the class code was the easiest thing to do for me. There is a 6 digit code and students enter your class using this code. Once they enter with this code, students reported that next time they could enter without the code.

2014-03-21_2116

However, I tried the other option as well. I had an Excel class list sheet and I uploaded this list with great curiosity thinking what they can make out of this list as it was not made according to some certain template. To my surprise the message below came up.2014-03-21_2118Even more surprising was to see a neat name and surname list of my students after about ten minutes! Anyway, let’s have a look at some important aspects of this tool about how you can use it. Below in the screen shot, you can see some important aspects. Firstly, changing the lesson name is a good idea to make an organized archive. Since, my current course is for 16 weeks, I wanted to name the lessons in this format: “week5Mon”. You could set a date if you like. Secondly, you can prepare your questions after or before you click on ‘start teaching’ button. Finally, make sure you click on ‘save&exit’.

2014-03-21_2119Now, I think the core of this tool is the questions. When I first started using Geddit, the options you could do with the question was something like this:2014-03-21_2125So, you could ask your students multiple choice, or short answer questions or give them a poll. But recently I noticed that there is now ‘long answer’ option as well.

Apart from answering questions, students can ‘check in’ and state their progress. Let’s say they are reading a text and after reading they can check in how much they understood. They can raise hand to ask a question without raising their hand physically. Since I haven’t figured out a systematic use of this aspect of the tool, I cannot write more about this feature, that is, monitoring the students. So far, I’ve focused on asking questions and collecting feedback aspects of this tool.

Some examples from my lessons:

 I took notes from my students’ individual presentations and using my notes I prepared ten multiple choice questions. Preparation is really easy. Students enjoy doing anything using their mobiles let alone adding pictures makes it even more attractive for the students. Here is one of the questions:2014-04-05_2216You can see even more detailed statistics about the answers such as individual student’s answers and their confidence level through the ‘check in’s they make. I also use this tool to collect immediate feedback:

2014-04-05_2225These two examples are from my past, completed lessons. As well as exporting the statistics in .csv format (Excel can open it), you can share these with your teaching partner(s), or a colleague. Also, after every lesson, there is a comment box for you to record your reflections for that lesson. Here is an example of how I used the new ‘long answer’. This time the questions are from a running lesson:

2014-04-05_2229So, before reading a text, as a warm up, I wanted my students to use their mobile phones to search for information about a concept. Students have no difficulty typing with mobile phones. Later, I asked them to watch a video and answer a couple of questions. You can choose any student’s answer and share it anonymously with the rest of the students. You can prepare your question whenever you want, before or during the lesson. Once you click on ‘ask’ button, it becomes visible to students instantly.

Overall, I find this tool very practical, easy to use, and engaging for both students and teachers.

Geddit: http://letsgeddit.com/

5 thoughts on “Geddit: reflections and classroom implementation

  1. Hi Okan!

    First of all, great to see you blogging – welcome to the blogging world!

    I had never heard of this tool before. Thank you for this! It sounds and looks pretty straightforward and your instructions are very helpful. I think I might start using it at the university where I teach part-time, as we are using another tool which is not practical at all. I will recommend this to my students and director and will credit you : )

    I am looking forward to your next posts as well : )

    Best wishes,
    Vicky

    • Wow, first of all thank you very much. I am flattered to receive such a beautiful and positive comment. This is a total booster and incentive to do even better. We met at Istek ELT in Istanbul and I wish we had a longer chat to get more insights from you. My next post is due tomorrow. After that, I am planning and hoping to publish one every Monday.
      Thank you and best wishes,
      Okan

      • Hi again Okan,

        Great to hear that you will be posting regularly. This means we will be learning more from you : )

        I remember meeting at ISTEK – there wasn’t much time then, unfortunately – but if you are at the YTU conference this year on May 17, I willl be there too! : )

  2. Sufian Mabarouk

    Hi dear,
    It’s awesome to use it in the class to creat conditions of motivation among students and to create communication between them.
    Acually , its innovation in the field of pedagogical process.
    I have a plan to use Cell Phone as tools in teaching English class .. so your idea will help me more to identify my study.

Leave a Reply

